Skip to content

enamel

September 12, 2015

kiln silo 1kiln silo 3

When ever I manage to actually attach my head and align with the universe I always seem to want to test some idea. This is a continuation of many previous experiments with the copper foil sunk into the enamel.  Using the kiln – instead of the torch – I was trying to eliminate one of the fussy steps I had used previously which was sinking the shape into enamel that had already been fused.  This is a very heavy gauge copper base but the image is cut from the thinnest of copper foil. The enamel was sifted on the base ( one coat) and my cut out of the woman was laid on top of the enamel powder. It was in the kiln at 1500 degrees for about 3 min. I wanted the copper to turn a stable black and sink into the enamel which it did. One tiny piece did pop off. This stage is shown in the left photo. I then put on a layer of soft fusing flux to ‘seal’ it.  Depending on its ultimate use I might not do this second step. The photo on the right shows this step. It was in the kiln 3 minutes and the kiln was a bit hotter and it is over cooked – pits and bubbles but to me – added patina. This photo is not great due to the reflection from the glass.  The figure does have a bit more definition than shows here. For me I would now have to etch off the shine and this, I think, would clarify the image even more. So I am thinking this will work for me as I wanted to cut out various images and just lay them on the powdered enamel – cook them up and have some nice black silhouette images. This piece is very small – about 1 1/2 inches tall.

As I like to combine my techniques to get something ‘new’ I might try sinking the wire here too with the silhouette images.

Enamel remains endlessly fun to me!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2015 9:56 pm

    Nicely done, Jane! I like the imperfections on the patina. Gives it dimension and soul. ~Diana

  2. September 13, 2015 12:58 am

    I am happy to see a new and exciting project from you!

  3. Helene Daniels permalink
    September 13, 2015 1:48 am

    What a lovely experiment. I like the second one too because of the imperfections and happy accidents.

Leave a Reply

